California Flyway Forum Sponsors

Total noob in Banos - lottery / sweatline guidance?

Discussion in 'California Flyway Forum' started by BirdiePowPow, Oct 19, 2021.

1. BirdiePowPow

BirdiePowPow Refuge Member

Hi pals!

I’m a total noob duck hunter. I went on an unsuccessful pheasant hunt ages ago, have my licenses and stamps, just fired 75 rounds at some clays to dust off the ole Mossberg, but other than that - noob.

I recently adopted a WPG with some hunting experience and got the itch to harvest my own food again. Oddly enough, I don’t even eat meat anymore - but I’ll totally eat the good Lord’s wild game. I don’t have any friends that currently hunt (they’re all hippies) but I’m pushing 40 so I figure - screw it, just buy some waders and decoys and go!

I’ve got a hotel booked in Santa Nella. I’m bringin’ the whole damn family, they’re gonna play in the pool while mom slams White Claws I guess. I put in for the opening day online lottery at Volta, Los Banos, and Gadwall - did not get drawn.

Can I / should I enter the night before lottery at Volta/Banos and Gadwall (Salt Slough Check Station)?

is there a reserve you’d particularly recommend for getting drawn on opening day?

And how bad are the sweat
    lines? How does that work? Are you standing in an actual line for hours? Parked in your vehicle listening for a number to be called?

If I don’t get drawn for anything, I was almost thinkin’ of just going quail hunting around San Luis in the morning and then trying to get in for an afternoon hunt somewhere. Is that a dumb idea?

Sorry to sound like such a frickin’ rube. I try out a lot of hobbies and hunting has to be one of the roughest to go at alone in terms of available information. I’m just tryin’ to make the best of my weekend and newly purchased gear.

Thank you, yee haw, and good night. :sp

2. API

API PAF-CA Flyway Moderator

I'm in SoCal and know nothing of the areas ya mentioned, but nevertheless... Welcome aboard!!!

BirdiePowPow likes this.